Style Week’s Intern Takes on Teen Vogue

Recently, Style Week Pittsburgh’s intern, Elana Pappas was invited to the Teen Vogue magazine headquarters in New York City. Read about her experience…

“My Teen Vogue Experience”

            On January 13, 2017 I was given the amazing opportunity to attend the Teen Vogue magazine headquarters in New York City. Being that I am an online fashion student for the Parsons and Teen Vogue program, the students had the privilege to be eligible for this event to learn and network with some of the industry’s best. As soon as I received my invitation to the event I knew this was the perfect opportunity to represent Style Week Pittsburgh in the best light, and I was beyond elated to do so.

img_20170126_170515_577

Photo © Teen Vogue

            Soon after a panel of editors entered the room and gave us all the most gracious greeting. I couldn’t believe I was in the same room with Teen Vogue’s editor and chief, Elaine Welteroth. We had the opportunity to have an open Q&A with the panel of editors. It was so insightful to hear their take on building your brand, how to showcase your aesthetic, enhancing your visual style, the best tips on using social media for your brand, and how to stay inspired. It was so enlightening and I definitely took notes to take back home. I also loved hearing about the editors talk about their favorite trends this past season, from 70s vibes to 90s grunge. It was amazing to think that all of the trends I had been following by reading through those glossy pages of a magazine were created by the people right in front of me in the very same room. Sharing Style Week with Teen Vogue’s editors was amazing, and it was even more amazing how many questions they had about it and wanted to learn more and stay connected with us. So I think it is safe to say Style Week Pittsburgh has been Teen Vogue approved! That’s right; Style Week Pittsburgh is ready to take over the globe!

img_20170126_090854_145

Photo © Teen Vogue

            The rest of the day was filled with exclusive activities. We had a conference with College Fashionista’s founder, Amy Levin on insightful tips for entrepreneurs. We also had an exclusive tour of Teen Vogue’s fashion closet where many celebrities and talents have been styled. My favorite part, though? Receiving styling tips from Teen Vogue accessories editor, Kirby Marzec for our very own Teen Vogue photoshoot! She gave us the best styling tips to keep in mind for a shoot, and we got to experiment with it firsthand by having a professional Teen Vogue photoshoot of our very own. Considering that I am an aspiring stylist, that was the most crucial part for me and I definitely got the ultimate photoshoot experience. Kirby’s advice was simple yet profound. She simply said to us, “Stay true to your aesthetic.” Then it was great to hear that she and I both shared the same love for moto jackets and anything in black. We were basically twining outfits, it was too cool.

Teen Vogue did an outstanding job providing us with great networking and hands-on experience. I truly couldn’t be more thankful for my experience at Teen Vogue and all of the connections that were made while representing Style Week Pittsburgh. Leaving Teen Vogue that day left me with great inspiration and the confidence I needed to keep pursuing my passion as fiercely as possible. In words of Teen Vogue’s editor Elaine Welteroth, “All you need to find is your inner girl power and you’re destined to slay.”

Shine on,

Elana Pappas

 

 

Leave a Reply

